Kookaburra’s Juliet Chapter 7

Here’s Chapter 7 from Kookaburra’s Juliet

Chapter 7 Nightingale

I heard Kook scream so I knew that there was something wrong, while my opponent was down I turned  to where I heard his scream coming from, the scene that confronted me was Kook lying on the ground writhing in agony, the soldier near him picked up up Kook’s sword. At that point I reached for my slingshot, I picked up the closest stone that I could find, loaded my weapon and aimed it at the soldiers head, as he raised the sword to strike Kook dead, I released the slingshot, the stone went flying through the air, striking the soldier in the centre of his forehead, killing him stone dead.

“Kook, are you alright?” I asked running over, as I got closer I couldn’t help but notice the arrow he had in his right arm.

“Do I look alright?” Kookaburra replied, his voice shaking slightly.

I help Kook to his feet and walked him to one side away from the fight, I noticed that he was shaking slightly and I could feel his pulse beating fast, we walked over to the woods on the right side of the field, slowly and gently, I sat Kook down against a nearby tree.

“Has the pain eased at all?” I asked.

“A bit.” Kook replied, his left hand clutching his right arm.

I had to get the arrow out, and the only way to do that was to yank it out with a quick sharp tug.

“I’m going to have to pull the arrow out okay?” I said.

“Err…alright.”

Reaching into the pouch that I had on my belt I pulled out a clean handkerchief, ready to place over the wound.

“Okay this will hurt, so brace yourself.” I warned him.

“Okay.” He replied, squeezing his eyes tight, gritting his teeth and turning his head away.

The arrow was harder to get out than I thought it would be, I pulled harder and sure enough, the arrow popped out, as soon as it came out, I quickly covered the wound with the handkerchief.

“Agh!” Kook yelped

“I warned you.” I replied.

To ensure that the handkerchief stayed in the same place I wrapped it around Kook’s arm securing it tightly with a double knot, pulling it tight Kook let out another yelp.

“Ow.”

“There is that better?” i asked.

“Much, thanks.”

“You’re welcome.”

“Where did you learn all that?”

“I was taught first aid, you can never be too careful. By the way, thanks again for saving me.”

“No problem.”

“But why did you save me?”

“We’re partners, and you’re new, I couldn’t just stand by and see you die like that. Anyway, you did the same for me.”

We got up to go when Kook started to sway, not only that he looked awfully pale, I grabbed his left arm to steady him.

“What’s wrong?” I asked concerned.

“I just feel a bit dizzy that’s all.”

“It’s most probably from loss of blood, will you be alright?”

“Yeah, don’t worry, I’ll be fine.”

“Okay.”

I let go of his arm, as we walked on, he seemed to slow down, then stopping completely before fainting.

“Kook! Kook wake up! Please wake up.” I said panicking

I checked his heartbeat, it was very slow, so was his pulse, he was breathing but very faintly, there was something very wrong now, come on Nightingale, what did they teach you in first aid, yes, CPR, I got Kook onto his back, his lips were parted slightly, I performed the CPR twice when soldiers were running over, grabbing my sword, I fought them off one by one, no one else had seen us so we were safe for the time being. The CPR didn’t seem to be working, I was now really starting to panic.

“Come on Kook, please wake up.”

Another four times and Kook finally woke up, taking in a large gasp of air he bolted upright.

“What happened?” He asked.

“I saved your life a second time.” I replied.

“I meant what happened to me?”

“You fainted and your heart, pulse and breathing were starting to slow down, I had to do CPR.”

“You know CPR too?”

“Yeah, you could say that I’m multi talented.”

i was really glad that Kookaburra was alright, after just ten minutes, we’d won the battle, Splazzer City backed up and ran back to their kingdom, after a quick surrender, their king said and I quote, “Congratulations Splatalot, you have beaten us, we surrender, your army and defenders are too skilled and powerful for us, we shall bother you no longer.”

When we got back to the castle, we first of all had to treat all the wounds and injuries that we’d got from the battle, Faetal, Thorne, Ballista and Vane had a few cuts on their arms and legs, Gildar had a rather bad black eye and deep cut on his right leg, and of course Skabb had a number of wounds, he had cuts on his face, arms and legs, mind i guess that’s what he’s used to being a barbarian, obviously there was also Kook with his arrow wound. Getting a clean piece of cloth I soaked it in water before applying it to Kook’s wound to wash off the blood, before having to sew up the wound, I could tell that it hurt a fair bit due to the number of winces and cries that Kook gave.

“Ow.”

“Sorry, it’s the only way.”

“I know, I’m just not that good with pain.

After Kook’s wound was seen to, I could see to my own wounds and injuries. After working with Kook these past few days, I’ve come to see a few loving things about him, he’s kind, caring, lovable, has a good sense of humour and he makes me smile even when he doesn’t say something funny, maybe I like him, but I have to admit, he is pretty cute, I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings.

 

Read the full story at http://www.wattpad.com

Limey x

Leave a comment