Kookaburra’s Juliet Chapter 5 and 6

Here’s chapter 5 and 6 from Kookaburra’s Juliet

Chapter 5 Faetal

I was rather excited about the training, I was first shown how to use the crossbow, then we could get started, me, Vane, Nightingale and Madeva were informed about how we would normally practise our fighting on the dummies before moving onto the actual fighting against each other, sort of mock fights, Nightingale seemed to struggle at some points and needed extra help, but eventually got the hang of it as did I, after 2 hours of training, we had a short break in order to get our breath back and to get a small review on how we seemed to be progressing.

“Right, everything seems to be going well.” said Knightriss.

“How do you think that we’re doing?” Vane asked, panting.

“Well…” Shaiden started. “You’re doing very well for first timers, but you just need to focus on your aim a bit more and just remember to keep your left foot ahead of your right foot when fighting.”

“Yeah, I think that I’ve got the hang of that now.” said Nightingale.

I’d only just got my breath back when we were getting back to training, I was now moving onto the actual fighting, and was put against Gildar, he was a rather tricky person to beat.

“Keep your shield up.” he said. “You keep on lowering it.”

I really don’t feel ready for anything like this, I’ve only been on the job for one day, but I’m going to do this, for his majesty the king and for the kingdom, we spent the rest of the day training and would be doing the same every day leading up to the battle, Tinkor didn’t do much of the training as he had to make sure that the catapult was ready, as the day got ever closer we could see that he was starting to struggle on his own, so one day we decided to put the weapons aside and helped him to get everything just right, more hands make lighter work, that way we were sure that it would be ready in time for the battle.

The day of the battle was pretty much around the corner and we were getting in the last bit of training before relaxing so we could calm ourselves down ready for the battle, from what I’ve heard about Splazzer City, they seem to be pretty advanced with their weapons and strategies, there wasn’t going to be just us at the battle obviously, there was also going to be a number of the kings soldiers with us, to even out the numbers.

I couldn’t get to sleep that night, I had to keep on getting out of bed and walk around the room a number fo times in order to tire myself out, it worked after the 10th time, it was probably half past eleven by the time I fell asleep. When I woke up that morning, I looked at the clock, it was 8 in the morning, I wasn’t due at the king’s quarters until another 45 minutes, but I got up anyway and got myself ready for my first battle.

Everyone was waiting outside by the time I got there, the king was already kitted out in all of his armour, he looked so regal, powerful and not to mention unbeatable.

“So, are you all prepared?” He asked us.

“Yes your highness.” said Crocness. “We’ve been training every day leading up to today.”

“Good, because Splazzer City can be a vicious bunch.

I was now starting to get pretty scared, we quickly went to breakfast before venturing off to the battle field. We were walking for what felt like miles, when we finally arrived we were confronted by an empty field, Splazzer City hadn’t arrived yet, but we weren’t waiting long, slowly they started to appear, venturing over the hill towards us, their army looked much bigger than ours, but I was convinced that they were around the same size as ours, they were still for around 2 minutes, before they started to charge towards us, we stayed put, waiting for the right moment, before deciding to charge.

“FOR THE KINGDOM OF SPLATALOT!” the king bellowed.

The battle had commenced.

Chapter 6 Kookaburra

As we charged across the field I could feel the wind rushing through my hair and could hear the sound of the wind whistling in my ears as well as the shouting from both us and Splazzer City, when the fighting started I was fighting like I’ve never fought before, all I thought was that I was doing this for the kingdom, I was getting myself into a Kookaburra frenzy, most of us were in a frenzy, Skabb was being his original barbaric self and Shaiden was almost flying across the field she was so fast

I was now battling against one of Splazzer City’s soldiers, and the king was right, they are vicious, this person seemed to be really focused on the idea of beating or maybe even killing me, I hope it was just to beat me, I don’t want to die yet, luckily I was much faster than him, so with a slash with my sword, a clang with the shield and another swipe with the sword and he was down in the ground, he was still, but he was breathing, I’d just knocked him out, charging across the field, fighting for the kingdom, i saw a familiar face, it was my arch enemy, one of Splazzer City’s defenders, Falcon.

“Well well, look what the cat dragged in.” he said getting ready to attack. “Kookaburra. What have you been bushing up on this week, singing? Dancing? Or have you just been up to nothing?”

“I’ll have you know that I’ve been training for this battle for the past week or so. So I’d be worried if I was you.” I replied getting into position.

We both lashed forward with our swords at the same time, there was a loud clash as our swords hit our shields, now I was inches away from him, I could see the look of mischief and plotting in his eyes.

“I see that your kingdom has some new defenders.”

“You bet, and they’re pretty powerful fighters.”

“I wouldn’t say powerful, but I’d say that some of them are certainly pretty. That chick in the black for starters.”

“That’s Nightingale and you stay away from her.”

“She a friend of yours?”

I was silent, I didn’t know how to answer that, but Falcon could read me like a book, he always could, as he stared at me, a smile seemed to grow on his face.

“You like her don’t you?”

“So what if I do, what are you gonna do about it?”

“Well, let’s just say that when I’ve finished with you, I’ve got the same thing in mind for her.”

“You keep your hands off her.”

“Just think, the Nightingale will soon be the Falcon’s prey.”

My heart started to pound, and my face was bubbling with anger, I could feel the anger running through my body, I could then hear the little Aussie in my head shout, “Kill him!” You can’t let him mess with your Sheilah!” I gripped my sword tighter, I have never fought with such emotion, Falcon looked almost stunned and frightened with my fighting skills, it wasn’t long before I had him also to the ground, as he lay there helpless, I stood above him with my sword pointing downwards, ready to strike.

“You’d never kill me.” he said.

“No I wouldn’t.” I replied “Just as long as you stay away from Nightingale.”

Lowering my sword I backed away, I felt like I’d really made a point there, the field was still as alive as ever with the sound of fighting, we seemed to be doing well, Splazzer City were starting to back away, but it wasn’t over yet. I looked to my right and Nightingale was fighting away I was really concerned for her, this was her first battle and I didn’t want her to get hurt, I was almost distracted by her beauty that  nearly didn’t notice someone running over to me.

This soldier was a difficult one to beat, they’ve obviously been a soldier for a long time, I couldn’t keep up with him and was pretty sure that I was going to be defeated, I was about to surrender, blocking his sword with my shield when I saw something that caught my eye and made my heart skip a beat, I saw Nightingale also struggling just as much as me, unknown to her, Falcon was neaking up behind her, brandishing his sword.

“NIGHTINGALE, LOOK OUT!” I shouted.

She didn’t hear me, a swipe of my sword and the soldier was down, and he didn’t get back up, I ran over to Nightingale and got in front of Falcon blocking him, before he had a chance to strike me or Nightingale, I struck him, slowly, he fell onto the ground, he took three deep breaths, exhaled and was still…I’d killed him…I rarely ever kill anyone.

“What are you doing?” Nightingale asked focussing on her fight.

“Saving your life.” I replied.

“Thanks.”

The battle continued for hours, we’d lost a number of soldiers, but not as many as Splazzer City, we were pretty confident that we were going to win, we every nearly lost some of our defenders, but we were free from any funerals…so far. I was fighting another soldier and seemed to be winning, he was backing away, I thought that this was going to be a quick and easy win, but I didn’t see the archer behind me, he was pulling the bow back ready to shoot, aiming for my back, just as he fired, I turned to my right letting the arrow hit me in my right arm, I’ve never experienced pain like it.

“Agh!” I screamed.

The pain was so agonizing, I dropped my weapons collapsing to the ground, surely I was done for now.

 

Read the rest of the story at http://www.wattpad.com

Limey x

Leave a comment